IN WHICH I VENT

1. WHY ARE ALL MEN WHO WERE BORN BEFORE 1900 (AND MANY BORN AFTER) SUCH MISOGYNISTS.

2. WHY IS THE CONFLICT BETWEEN THE COMMODIFICATION OF WOMEN AS SEX OBJECTS VERSUS THE COMMODIFICATION OF WOMEN AS DOMESTIC OBJECTS REGARDED A THEME WORTHY OF GREAT LITERATURE THAT I HAVE TO SUFFER THROUGH SLOWLY BECAUSE I AM NOT A NATIVE SPEAKER OF THE ARABIC LANGUAGE.

3. WHAT ON EARTH HAS MY LIFE COME TO THAT I CONSIDER CASUALLY LOOKING OVER THE VOCAB FROM LATER CHAPTERS IN THE TEXTBOOK “SLACKING OFF” AND “TAKING A BREAK FROM STUDYING”?

4. WHY DO INTENSIVE LANGUAGE COURSES EXIST. THERE IS NO WAY I CAN LEARN THE EQUIVALENT OF A YEAR’S WORTH OF MATERIAL IN EIGHT WEEKS. I WILL INEVITABLY BE BEHIND THE PEOPLE WHO TOOK THE YEAR-LONG-COURSE, AND I WILL ALSO HAVE TO BE INSTITUTIONALIZED BECAUSE I COMPLETELY CRACKED AFTER THE SIXTH WEEK OF STUDYING ARABIC NINE OR MORE (USUALLY THE LATTER) HOURS A DAY.

5. WHAT IS THE POINT OF MY BEING IN A HOST FAMILY IF I’M ASSIGNED SO MUCH HOMEWORK EVERY DAY THAT MY INTERACTIONS WITH THEM ARE LIMITED TO THEM FEEDING ME AND ME PLEADING WITH THEM TO HELP ME WITH MY HOMEWORK WHILE THEY WATCH SOAP OPERAS.

6. WHY ARE THERE SOME STUDENTS IN L4 ARABIC WHO HAVE NOT MASTERED THE DAMN ALPHABET. I BLAME YOU AND YOUR “INTENSIVE CURRICULUM”, YALE.

…but on the plus side, my favorite Amr Diab song just started playing at the club next door! And also, I hear that you learn the most when you are pushed to the brink of insanity? So now I can go to bed pleased. :)

~ by putthisinyourrecord on 6 July 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
